why a fundie?

So why am I a reluctant fundamentalist? I’m reluctant because fundamentalism is so misrepresented by the vast majority of it’s adherents. Spurgeon is maybe the greatest fundie in history, but when we think of fundamentalism, the likes of Peter Ruckman, J. Frank Norris, and Jerry Falwell come to mind…

I’m a fundamentalist because I see the church in the United States slipping down the inevitable decline into destructive liberalism. When we debate the inspiration of Scripture, the virgin birth, the historicity of the Resurrection, ad nauseam, we begin to occupy very dangerous ground.  I am a fundamentalist because I see the church departing from “the faith once delivered to the saints.”  

The church has 2,000 years of theology leading in one direction, and it took us 2,000 years to come up with the questions that seem to be destroying the Church.  If you are standing alone against 2,000 years of history and apologetic defense, then maybe you need to reconsider your posistion…

About this entry