the offering

The Temptation of Christ“Again, the devil took Him to a very high mountain, and showed Him all of the kingdoms of the world and their glory; and he said to Him, ‘All of these things I will give you if you fall down and worship me.” Then Jesus said to him, ‘Go, Satan! For it is written, YOU SHALL WORSHIP THE LORD YOUR GOD, AND SERVE HIM ONLY.'” — The Gospel of Matthew 4:8-10, NASB (emphasis mine)

So I’ve been reading the Sermon on the Mount in Matthew chapter 5, and thought I needed to get some of the lead up in the previous chapter, when I came across this passage, and noticed something I hadn’t in the past.

When the Savior is taken up to the pinnacle of the mountain in this particular passage, Satan tempts Him by offering Him all of the kingdoms of the word, if only He would bow down and worship him. I find it interesting that in His rebuke, Jesus doesn’t say, “You can’t offer me the kingdoms of this world, for they are not yours to offer.” He rebukes the Adversary for encouraging Him to idolatry. Why is that?

Could it be that the kingdoms and governments of this world, however benevolent they may be, are under the power and control of our Enemy? I realize that I’m arguing from silence, here, but that seems to be the tacit implication of this group of verses…

About this entry