prophecy panic

Vision of DeathSo…I was working at my Showmar’s today, when an elderly couple started chatting with me about the current situation between Israel and Lebanon.
It was prophecy panic all over the place…. I realize that every generation sees itself as living through the events described in the Revelation to St. John. This was, according to this very kind elderly couple, the beginning of the end.

I don’t wish to mock my elders, by any stretch of the imagination. On the other hand, I can remember being in sixth grade when Operation: Desert Storm started, and my teacher telling us all to be prepared for Jesus to come back.

I do not believe for a minute that the engagement in southern Lebanon is the fulfillment of biblical prophecy, and that we’ll shortly live through the Rapture. There is simply too much biblical prophecy that must occur first. The Temple has not been rebuilt in Jerusalem, nor has worship at the as-yet unbuilt Temple been resumed. These must come to pass first.

That being said, here’s my take on the political side of things. Israel absolutely, unequivocally is up against the wall with her Arab neighbors. Israel is surrounded by nations that would like nothing more than to see her wiped of the face of the map. This is just further evidence to me that the rise of nation-states, and the government of these nation-states, are in the hands of our Adversary.

Where is the Prince of Peace in all of this? What should our response be as believers in Christ?

I’m not sure I have the answers to those questions. I do know that the death of innocent civilians is never, ever, pleasing to God. If our mother’s were in the cities that are being bombed in southern Lebanon, would we really want those bombs to fall? On the other hand, if our mother’s lived in cities controlled by radical militants bent on destruction, would we really want those bombs not to fall?

There are no easy answers, but I am interested in your opinions…

About this entry