praying His attributes

When I read through my Bible, one of the things that stands out to me is the attributes of God. Now I know that some of this is pretty heavy theology, but God hasn’t revealed anything about Himself that doesn’t require a response from us.

Contemplating the Creator should change the creature, and meditating on the Master should change the servant forever.

Numerous verses of Scripture contain the exhortation to respond in direct connection with the presentation of one of God’s attributes. For instance there are the following:

‘For I am the LORD who brought you up from the land of Egypt to be your God; thus you shall be holy, for I am holy.'” – Leviticus 11.45

“Therefore you are to be perfect, as your heavenly Father is perfect.” – Jesus, Matthew 5.48

“And everyone who has this hope fixed on Him purifies himself, just as He is pure.” – 1 John 3.3

Whole chapters of the Bible are dedicated to attributes or an attribute of God, followed by our expected response to it or them. A wonderful example of this is Psalm 139. So let’s look at some specific attributes of God, and some specific responses to them on our part.

First, God and God alone is sovereign Lord of the universe. Since He is the sovereign Lord of the universe, we can live with the assurance that He is in control:

“Have I not commanded you? Be strong and courageous! Do not tremble or be dismayed, for the LORD your God is with you wherever you go.” – Joshua 1.9

Furthermore, we can be confident that as the sovereign ruler of the universe, He can bring good out of evil:

“As for you, you meant evil against me, but God meant it for good in order to bring about this present result, to preserve many people alive.” – Genesis 50.20

Likewise, we should be grateful He desires to use us. As Paul said,

“I thank Christ Jesus our Lord, who has strengthened me, because He considered me faithful, putting me into service,” – Paul, 1 Timothy 1.12

Finally, we should be thankful to be His instruments. Paul wrote this:

“But we have this treasure in earthen vessels, so that the surpassing greatness of the power will be of God and not from ourselves,” – Paul, 2 Corinthians 4.7

About this entry