the fast

So, I’ve not blogged for a few days now, and during my absence, I’ve been thinking over a few things. I have been thinking about one of Andrew Jone’s posts at his site tallskinnykiwi.com. I love the humility that I find in his posts, and one post in particular has been stuck in my mind. You can find it here.

I’m going to fast from blogging for the next week, for many of the reasons that Andrew enumerated at his site in the above post. Furthermore, for the last two days I’ve been reading A Serious Call To A Devout And Holy Life by William Law, and for the last week I’ve been reading The Reformed Pastor by Richard Baxter. Thanks to my reading material I’m seeing some things a bit more clearly.

Our chief end in this life is to perform every activity to the greater glory of God. Lately, as soon as I log in to the wordpress account, the first thing I do is check my blog stats. My desire has been for this blog to be about God, and His work and what He has to say; not about me or what I have to say. I need to refocus my priorities as far as the blog is concerned.

The process of doing the research I feel I need to do in order to write intelligently on any subject has become problematic as well. I need to be spending time in the Word for the edification of my own faith. Lately, I find myself reading the Bible for the purpose of writing for someone elses edification. I cannot try to feed anyone else while I’m going hungry.

I need to care for the spirtual health of my own soul before I try to care for yours. I am blogging on prayer, or at least trying to, and yet I’ve only managed to spend maybe 10 minutes in prayer a night for the last two weeks. Sweetpea and I pray together every night before we go to sleep, and that’s all the prayer I’ve been able get done.

I cannot possibly encourage any of you to higher and better acts of devotion to God when all I am offering is 10 minutes to God out of my day. I will destroy the growth of my faith on the habits of prayer that have been developing lately.

Over and above all of that, I have a vision of what I want this site to be, and I need some time to reflect and figure out how to make my vision match up with reality.  I know what I want to takle and how I want to see community develop around the underground cross, and I need to figure out where God is leading me in that direction.

So for all of the above reasons, I’ll not be posting anything for the next week.

I’ll write again once the week is up, and hopefully we’ll be able to continue our study on prayer and the Christian life. I’d appreciate all the agreement and intercession in prayer you would be willing to make on my behalf in the mean time.

Thanks for understanding, and God bless.

Hutch

About this entry