the Luke 14 dinner

So I went to the Luke 14 dinner at Calvary Church tonight. Every year for the last 10 years Calvary Church has hosted the Luke 14 dinner for the families of those touched by special needs. My girlfriends brother, Lance, has cerebral palsy. Paul, one of the young gentlemen that was seated with us this evening, has Down’s Syndrome.

As I listened to various parents telling the stories associated with their children, I honestly got so mad I had to leave the table. I mean I was absolutely furious!

Here in the United States, which is supposed to be an ostensibly “Christian” nation, we are seeing funding for programs for children and adults with special needs cut all over the place. This cutting is usually being done by the Republicans elected to office, in their fight against special interest groups. Understand that the Republican Party here in the U.S. gets the majority of the Christian vote.

How is it that the political party of choice for Christians, in a supposedly “Christian” country, can so callously disregard the command of Christ that

“Whatsoever you’ve done for the least of these, you have done also for me…”

So when we disregard these individuals, we are disregarding God.  After all, the Bible is full of commands to watch over the needy, the widow, the orphan, and the less fortunate.

I’m incredibly angry that as Christians, we recoil in horror at the idea of “special needs”, that somehow God has visited His just judgement on these individuals for the sins of their parents or families.

I was fortunate to spend part of the summer of 2002 as a counselor to Special Needs campers at LutherRidge Camp in Arden, North Carolina.  I learned more about the unconditional love of God for His children in that one week, than I probably have in the rest of my life.

Here in Charlotte, there is an organization that is doing great work among the special needs community.  It’s called Community Crossroads.   I highly recommend that you follow the link I’ve given, and check out what they’re doing.  While you’re at it, they need funding.  Since Christmas is approaching, perhaps you could give a gift to a group of people that will be profoundly helped by your generosity.

About this entry