formation of radical Christianity

So here’s some thoughts on the formation of radical Christianity.  Firstly I have to say that the problems I see at the root of things that necessitate a radical faith are primarily American problems.   There is a deep spiritual apathy on the part of the majority of churches here in the United States.  Hence my determination to focus on fundamentalism; the apparent Body of Christ in the U.S. is on a decidedly liberal slide.  Secularism is taking hold even within the churches here.

Secondly, it is the problem of international visibility.  Right or wrong, the rest of the world sees the United States as a Christian nation.  While I would argue that we are a nation of agnostics, atheists, Christians, Hindus, Buddhists and people from Ohio, the perception of the rest of the world is that we are a Christian nation.  And the see us operating in the world in a manner decidedly opposed to Christ and a Christian worldview.

Finally there is the problem of economic prosperity.  On the day after Thanksgiving here in the U.S., Americans spent 9 billion dollars in one day on Christmas gifts.  That’s $9,000,000,000.  That number is roughly what it would cost to supply the entire planet with sanitary facilities and clean drinking water.

I wish I had time to post more, but this is what’s rattling around in my skull.  Any thoughts?


About this entry