a question of truth and relativity

So, I’ve been reading a lot lately on the question of post-modernity as it applies to the Church in our age. Here’s what I’m supposed to say:

I don’t know if this is true, and after all, it doesn’t matter if it is or it isn’t. There are any number of ways that are true, and I’m just setting an option up here for you, and you might want to consider it. I’m not suggesting that you must, because I don’t want to press upon you or offend you. I’m really glad you came by my blog, and I want you to leave happy, and yada yada yada…

Are you kidding me? I’m sorry, but I can’t say any of that rubbish!

It’s foolishness? The last time I checked, civil engineers weren’t building bridges based on conjecture. I sincerely hope that air traffic controllers and pilots are not engaged in great philosophical discussions about whether two thousand feet is two thousand feet, or whether it’s fifteen hundred feet, or maybe two and a half thousand feet. I don’t want them having that discussion with me in the cabin!

“Charlotte control tower, this is flight 256 at two thousand feet…at least that’s what it is to me, what is it to you?”

“Oh no, you’re not at two thousand feet!  To me, you’re at five thousand feet.”

It’s stupidity. Truth isn’t a matter of conjecture, truth is truth is TRUTH!

But the moment people enter the moral, theological, biblical realm, they assume that you apply a different standard to the search for truth, and you cannot do it! If you do, I guarantee you that you won’t find the truth that you’re searching for.

You see, all of the world’s religions agree on the peripherals, but they violently disagree on the essentials.

Pilate asked,

“What is truth?”

And we are all still asking the same question…

Yes, truth does exist. And it is knowable. Do you want a good dose of truth in your life today? Go pick up a Bible and read the Gospels…you’ll find the truth you’re so desperately seeking.


About this entry